Youth Council

Kindersley Youth Council 2015

The Kindersley Youth Council is the only one of its kind in Saskatchewan. It was started in 2009 with a resolution from Kindersley’s Town Council. The Kindersley Youth Council was established as an initiative to engage youth in the community while teaching them various aspects of municipal governance.

Youth Council members range between 13 and 16 years of age and serve a one-year term appointed by Town Council. To be chosen, eligible youth are required to completed an application and participate in an interview process. Each Youth Council conducts its own election of mayor and the deputy mayor position alternates throughout the year. Council meets twice monthly and follows Robert's Rules of Order.

Over the years, the Youth Council has grown to include not only 7 council members, but senior administrators and committee members, as well. In 2010, senior administrative manager positions were created for youth in grades 10 and 11 with at least one year of experience on Youth Council, allowing them continue their involvement in an advisory capacity, working under the supervision of the Town of Kindersley's Culture and Youth Coordinator.

The Town has set aside an operational grant for the Youth Council every year since its inception. The grant serves as the Youth Council’s budget and enables them to put on events and activities for the community. The Kindersley Youth Council has been known to get involved in and help out with big events that go on around town and donate money to special causes in our community as well. The Youth Council played a key role in events such as the Kindersley Centennial celebrations, culture days, the grand re-opening of the West Central Events Center and the Water West Grand Opening celebrations in 2013. They have organized annual events like the Drive in Movie and the Movie in the Park. Activities and events that past Youth Councils have put on have helped raise money for such causes as the Kindersley Community Walking Trail and arena reconstruction (Phase One) at the West Central Events Center. In 2011, the Kindersley Youth Council initiative received the Saskatchewan Municipal Award for Community Development Leadership. Youth Councillors from past groups have left their positions with a greater understanding of their community and local government. They have learned how they can get involved, even after their term on the Youth Council, and continue to use their leadership skills to make a difference in their community.

In 2011, the Kindersley Youth Council initiative received the Saskatchewan Municipal Award for Community Development Leadership.

The 2015 Kindersley Youth Council consists of the following members:

Jillian McArthur , Youth Mayor
Jocelyn Cannon, Youth Councillor
Kathryn Sawatzky, Youth Councillor
Jacob Evoy, Youth Councillor
Regan Galbraith , Senior Administrator
Sheldon Cannon, Senior Administrator

Shaye Bauml, Youth Ambassador

Youth Council Projects

One major component of the Kindersley Youth Council is to engage youth in the community throughout events and programs.


Along with the establishment of the Kindersley Youth Council, youth councillors have participated in a number of other community committees, including:

  • Kindersley and District Plains Museum (2010) Inc.
  • Community Walking Trail Committee
  • Communities in Bloom
  • Kindersley Drug and Alcohol Awareness Wellness Network
  • Funopolis 360 Committee

2011 Saskatchewan Municipal Award: Community Development Leadership

Awarded to: A municipal practice that demonstrates the municipal corporation's commitment to building and sustaining a vibrant community and fostering strong community spirit, volunteerism, and engaged citizens.

The Town of Kindersley's Youth Council Initiative received the 2011 Saskatchewan Municipal Award (SMA) of Excellence in the category of Community Development Leadership. The SMAs were established to recognize and celebrate excellence and innovation on the part of Saskatchewan's municipalities; and to promote the successes of Saskatchewan's municipal sector beyond its traditional audience and to all of Saskatchewan.

All Saskatchewan municipal practices initiated in or after 2000 are eligible for an award, including projects involving multiple municipalities. In 2011, the SMA received 41 nominations from across the province.

Submissions are also place on the "Best Practices" web site - an online resource centre for municipalities, located at .